Colorado College / junior year / London

Matilda the Musical

So…

Tonight was our last night together as a class in London, and I thought it fitting that we ended with a theatrical performance. Matilda the Musical was a suggestion of Steven, our professor, and I was excited to see one of my favorite childhood books (and movie!) performed live on stage.

Theatre

Cambridge Theatre

entrance to the Cambridge Theatre

entrance to the Cambridge Theatre

ticket to Matilda the Musical

ticket to Matilda the Musical

The Cambridge Theatre was styled in a very child-friendly way, obviously a nod to the show. As we were climbing up the winding staircase, I noticed frames with drawings (probably) by the child actors and actresses, as well as a frame containing a “Today’s Matilda” sign – along with a name presumably written by the lead actress. The girl playing Matilda for our show tonight was Tasha Chapple.

Tasha Chapple as Matilda

Tasha Chapple as Matilda

The stage was set up to mimic storybooks or a mixture of tiles. Before the performance began, there were seven tiles that spelt out the name M-A-T-I-L-D-A in the middle of the stage. The lights were blue-hued, so the photos looked really purple in the light – I didn’t want to risk using flash since I wasn’t sure I was even allowed to take photos, so sorry for the photo quality.

M-A-T-I-L-D-A

M-A-T-I-L-D-A

the stage

the stage

There were mini binoculars between several seats for people to rent for the performance. Since it was only £.00 I decided to rent one – this was a great decision because I could actually “zoom in” and see the faces of the child (and adult) performers clearly. The only problem with the binoculars was that they were ‘kiddie’, so I couldn’t adjust them at all, which made viewing through them with my eyeglasses a bit of a difficult task.

binoculars for hire!

binoculars for hire!

yes to binoculars!

yes to binoculars!

the program

the program

During intermission, I decided to take a walk and stretch my legs. I spotted a rapidly increasing line by the place where food stands usually are placed. Lining up I realized I made a great decision – it was a line for slushies! There were three different kinds: strawberry/raspberry (the red kind), blueberry (the blue kind), and a ‘twister’ (red & blue).

blueberry or strawberry slushie?

blueberry or strawberry slushie?

let's go with...both!

let’s go with…both!

The performance was AMAZING. The child actors were really professional, and the songs they sang were quite catchy. I was glad to see that the program I bought contained the most popular song – “School Song”. At the end of the performance the audience gave the cast a standing ovation, which I felt was well-deserved. I hope they take the show abroad!

final bow

final bow

Twitter | YouTube | Instagram | Bloglovin’ | Tumblr | Flickr

Related articles

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

