Building / Cambridge / England / Travel

King’s College, Cambridge

So…

Today I decided to venture out on my own and visit Cambridge – I have seen so many photos of the different colleges in town, and to hear the King’s College chapel choir perform live during mass service is definitely one item to cross off of my bucket list!

Cambridge Tube Station

Cambridge Tube Station

beautiful weather

beautiful weather

I ended up waking up later than planned, but luckily my tickets were open ended so I was able to board the next train from King’s Cross to Cambridge. Fortunately I have a smartphone so I was able to map my way to the Chapel, which took 30+ minutes of walking since I was unfamiliar with the place.

Cinnabon

Cinnabon

Cambridge Market

Cambridge Market

Great St. Mary's

Great St. Mary’s

Great St. Mary's description

Great St. Mary’s description

entrance to Great St. Mary's

entrance to Great St. Mary’s

tree at Great St. Mary's

tree at Great St. Mary’s

I was lucky enough to make it inside the Chapel just before they closed the doors for mass, but did not make it early enough to be allowed to tour the buildings and take photos of the interior. I was able to take photos of the gardens, and the exterior of both the chapel and the college. Just as I thought, the performance of the King’s College boys choir during the mass service was amazingly beautiful – I am glad photography and videography is prohibited during mass service because the results would not do the performance justice.

King's College Chapel

King’s College Chapel

King's College

King’s College

King's College

King’s College

King's College (in the garden)

King’s College (in the garden)

King's College (in the garden)

King’s College (in the garden)

After the service ended, I decided to just take a walk around the college before visiting other nearby universities such as Gonville and Caius College, Trinity College, St. John’s College, and Clare College. The weather was wonderful, nice and sunny with a hit of a breeze. Unfortunately I soon learned that visitors have to pay a fee to enter the colleges, so I had to pick two colleges to enter since I didn’t bring enough cash to cover all the door prices AND souvenirs. 

Senate House + Gonville and Caius College

Senate House + Gonville and Caius College

St. Michael's Church

St. Michael’s Church

St. Michael's Church

St. Michael’s Church

Trinity College

Trinity College

On the way around the colleges, I decided to stop by an ice cream cart for a little snack. I decided to try both the strawberry and chocolate flavors, and the cone for two scoops actually had two separate scoop holders – pretty cool! I liked the strawberry ice cream better than the chocolate, which was a bit nutty for my taste. 

 

Toni's Ices menu

Toni’s Ices menu

 

Toni's Ices

Toni’s Ices

 

the 6 ice cream flavors

the 6 ice cream flavors

 

2 scoops in an interesting cone!

2 scoops in an interesting cone!

The next stop on my list after the short visit to King’s College? A tour of St. John’s College!

Twitter | YouTube | Instagram | Bloglovin’ | Tumblr | Flickr

Related articles

Enhanced by Zemanta
3 thoughts on “King’s College, Cambridge

  1. Pingback: St. John’s College, Cambridge | travelin' 20somethin'

  2. Pingback: Bridge of Sighs, Cambridge | travelin' 20somethin'

  3. Pingback: Clare College, Cambridge | travelin' 20somethin'

Leave a Reply

