Fashion / Hair / Philippines

Pamper Session #2: Hair

So…

Today I visited South Salon (located on the Ground Floor of Westgate Tower) with my mom to get my hair treated and cut. One of the things I do not enjoy about studying in Colorado is the weather – specifically, Colorado is a dry climate area, which means my hair and scalp get really dry (especially during the winter time). Marivic, my hair stylist, is always horrified at the state of my hair whenever I come back for Christmas break.

When we arrived for our 2:45pm appointment, I was proved correct when Marivic gave instructions for my hair to be treated first. We started off with the Scalp Treatment (to repair my dry scalp), followed by 30 minutes under the hooded dryer.

Scalp Treatment

Scalp Treatment

Under the Hooded Dryer!

Under the Hooded Dryer!

Part two of my hair treatment began after a shampoo, condition, and rinse. The girls at South Salon even give short scalp massages while shampooing your hair!

pretty art on the way to the shampoo area

pretty art on the way to the shampoo area

I always call this the Shampoo Bed...

I always call this the Shampoo Bed…

Then it was time for Primer, which removes shampoo and residue buildup from both your hair and your scalp. I like this because it starts to tingle and feel a bit cold – kind of like mints! After waiting 30 minutes for the treatment to sink in, it was back to the shampoo area for a rinse!

Primer

Primer

Primer Treatment on my hair

Primer Treatment on my hair…it definitely is that white in person!

The final part of the treatment was the Repair (Hair) Mask, which basically does what it’s meant to do: repair dry and damaged hair. I don’t have this done too often because I don’t really need it, but like I said earlier – if I start getting knots in my hair, it’s definitely time for some treatment!

Repair (Hair) Mask

Repair (Hair) Mask

Repair (Hair) Mask on my hair...it looks (and feels) pretty greasy!

Repair (Hair) Mask on my hair…it looks (and feels) pretty greasy!

After my hair treatment session was finished, it was off to the hair stylist! First step: brush and dry my hair in preparation for a ‘dry cut’! I am thinking about growing out my hair for Locks of Love, and “the minimum length needed for a hairpiece is 10 inches from tip to tip”. After my hair was ‘trimmed’ it is now around 2.5″ from my shoulders, and I plan on cutting it at that length if my hair grows the required 10″. 

time to brush and dry my hair!

time to brush and dry my hair!

Marivic starting from the back

Marivic starting from the back

I am so happy to have my hair back to its natural health – last week I was already starting to have knots in my hair, and for a girl who brushes her hair only when she needs it to look nice, that was definitely a sign that I needed to go to the parlor! I couldn’t resist giving my head a toss, hair-commercial style, on the way out: it is that soft and silky!

"New" hair!

“New” hair!

Twitter | YouTube | Instagram | Bloglovin’ | Tumblr | Flickr

Related articles

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

