Lifestyle / Packing / Philippines / Travel / Travel Tips

Packing for a Semester Abroad Part 3: The Clothes

So…

This is the third blog post in the “Packing for a Semester Abroad” series, and will detail the types of clothes I plan on bringing with me for my four-month stay in Europe this Spring semester. It will be quite a long post, so I apologize in advance for the word vomit and photo explosion!
The first thing I did before I began to pack was to separate my clothes into several piles. I thought that packing by outfit would be easier, but it turned out to be more difficult (especially since I plan on recycling and repeating outfits!) so I decided to stick to clothing piles by type.
For this trip I plan on bringing the following “bottoms”:
  • 4 pairs of jeans: two denim, one black, one dark red
  • 4 skirts: one black, one red, one yellow, one patterned (black and white)
  • 2 pairs of shorts (one white, one black)
2 pairs of denim jeans

2 pairs of denim jeans

1 pair of black jeans

1 pair of black jeans

1 pair of dark red jeans

1 pair of dark red jeans

3 color-block skirts

3 color-block skirts

1 patterned skirt

1 patterned skirt

2 pairs of shorts

2 pairs of shorts

I also plan on bringing the following “tops”:
  • 3 black and white tops
  • 1 white blouse
  • 2 colored blouses
  • three simple V-neck t-shirts: one each in grey, purple, and salmon
  • 3 crop tops: one printed (“LOVE”), two plain (1 white, 1 black)
  • 4 plain t-shirts
  • 2 long-sleeved t-shirts
  • 4 sleep shirts and 1 work out shirt
2 black and white tops1

2 black and white tops1

1 black/white top, 1 white blouse

1 black/white top, 1 white blouse

colored blouses

colored blouses

3 v-neck t-shirts

3 v-neck t-shirts

crop tops

crop tops

t-shirts

t-shirts

t-shirt I'll be wearing while traveling

t-shirt I’ll be wearing while traveling

L-R: t-shirt, sleep shirt

L-R: t-shirt, sleep shirt

long-sleeved t-shirts

long-sleeved t-shirts

sleep shirt/work out shirt

sleep shirt/work out shirt

sleep shirts

sleep shirts

Because they are easy to layer (toss a shirt/sweater over one, and it looks like a different outfit), I also plan on bringing several dresses (4 informal, 2 semi-formal):
informal dresses

informal dresses

semi-formal dress

semi-formal dress

semi-formal dress

semi-formal dress

Last but not least come the cold-weather essentials:
  • 3 sweaters: two cashmere (one black, one light grey), one grey with a smiley face design
  • 2 beanies: one light grey, one red
  • 3 scarves: one off-white, one multi-colored, one tartan red
  • 2 pairs of gloves: one leather pair (in black), one knit pair (rainbow-colored mittens)
  • 2 spaghetti-strap tops (for layering): one black, one white
sweaters

sweaters

beanies

beanies

scarves (purple scarf not pictured)

scarves (purple scarf not pictured)

mittens (leather gloves not pictured)

mittens (leather gloves not pictured)

tank tops

tank tops

And just because I like it this way, a separate section just for footie items!
  • 1 pair of toe socks (rainbow-striped)
  • 2 pairs of fleece-lined tights (black)
  • 1 pair of fleece-lined leggings (black)
  • 2 pairs of thermal leggings (black, grey)
  • 2 pairs of colored tights (dark grey, dark red)
  • LOTS of socks!
toe socks

toe socks

fleece-lined tights and leggings

fleece-lined tights and leggings

leggings

leggings

colored tights

colored tights

ankle socks

ankle socks

long socks

long socks

In order to fit everything inside my 81cm U-Lite suitcase, I combined two packing methods: folding and rolling. I folded the stiffer/more structured items (jeans, skirts, etc), and rolled the more relaxed-fit/less-structured items (t-shirts, dresses, etc).
Lastly, I can’t forget my coats! I was originally planning to bring my leather jacket as well, but I left it in Colorado. I am bringing a red water-resistant coat (with a hood), and a black wool coat.
red hooded coat

red hooded coat

black wool coat

black wool coat

Stay tuned for the last part in my “Packing for a Semester Abroad” series, where I discuss the shoes I plan on taking with me to Europe! 

Twitter | YouTube | Instagram | Bloglovin’ | Tumblr | Flickr

Related articles

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 thoughts on “Packing for a Semester Abroad Part 3: The Clothes

  1. Pingback: London Bridges & Cathedrals | travelin' 20somethin'

  2. Pingback: Kensington Gardens & Hyde Park | travelin' 20somethin'

Leave a Reply

