Filipino / Food / Philippines

Bubble Tea and Taho

So…

Today started off as a “let’s try to do errands day”, but ended up becoming a “let’s grab munchies and sit down in one of the food stalls in the mall” kind of day – not that I’m complaining! I was finally able to find a few plain-colored t-shirts but unfortunately, Bench did not have most of the colors I wanted in my size (particularly white and black, i.e. the staple colors). I WAS able to buy t-shirts in purple, grey, and salmon/peach, so it wasn’t a total loss. One of my favorite parts of the day was the Chinese New Year Exhibit in Metro – too bad I’ll be gone before then!

2014-01-08 14.44.01

2014-01-08 14.44.03

I decided to have Serenitea again (got to have it while I’m still here!) so I got my regular order, this time at the Metro Serenitea station: Medium Okinawa, 25% sugar content with pearls.

they never get my name right...

they never get my name right…

...but it's always delicious!

…but it’s always delicious!

cute plastic cover!

cute plastic cover!

After carefully popping a hole in the plastic top for my straw, I met up with my mom at Mr. Bean for some taho: a Philippine snack made of tofu, sago pearls (similar to tapioca pearls), and arnibal (the sweet syrup). My mom decided not to order the sago pearls this time, and I was surprised at how light in color the syrup actually ended up being!

Traditional Taho © Wikipedia

Traditional Taho © Wikipedia

Mr. Bean Taho w/o sago pearls

Mr. Bean Taho w/o sago pearls

advertisment!

advertisment!

Before reaching the house I managed to take a quick snap in the car of the trees and blue sky outside my window – I really appreciate coming home to such beautiful weather, especially after cold winters at Colorado!

2014-01-08 16.05.54

Upon arriving home I saw my tito (uncle) Lench, one of my dad’s best friends. He and my dad were enjoying a plate of parma ham, various cheeses, and red wine, so of course I just had to try a bite!

cheeses and cold cuts platter

cheeses and cold cuts platter

red wine

red wine

cold cuts + cheese + warm croissant = heaven!

cold cuts + cheese + warm croissant = heaven!

Twitter | YouTube | Instagram | Bloglovin’ | Tumblr | Flickr

Related articles

Enhanced by Zemanta
3 thoughts on “Bubble Tea and Taho

  1. Pingback: Dinner at Masseto | travelin' 20somethin'

  2. Pingback: Lunch at Cibo with friends | travelin' 20somethin'

  3. Pingback: Cake and (High) Tea | travelin' 20somethin'

Leave a Reply

