Philippines

Junk Food and a New Lens

So…

Today was a pretty foodie day, if I do say so myself. My mom and I went to the mall today (Alabang Town Center, to be precise) to find luggage for me to use during my semester abroad (and after). We tried BratPack but found the rollers too heavy even without anything inside – we did find an adorable one with dogs on the front though!

2014-01-07 14.39.57

After trying out other stores, we went to the new wing to check out Travel Club. Striking gold, we were able to find a set of Delsey Helium trolley cases in three different sizes – cabin, regular, and large. The bonus was that they came in the color purple! My mom and I decided to go home and check to see if the largest trolley case fit the requirements for all airlines I would be using during my travels – most especially the small commercial flights within Europe.

luggage height in relation to Mom

luggage height in relation to Mom

yay for purple!

yay for purple!

After figuring out the best plan for possible luggage purchases, I went to Auntie Anne’s Pretzels to buy a cinnamon pretzel cut into bite-sized pieces. I saw the new “nuggets”, and for being p5 more expensive I might just order that next time: it’s more convenient (paper vs. cup) AND it’s already in bite-sized pieces!

one of my favorite snacks

one of my favorite snacks

cinammon pretzel cut into bits versus...

cinammon pretzel cut into bits versus…

...pretzel nuggets?

…pretzel nuggets?

I also stopped by Burger King to buy a medium-sized order of french fries. It’s both a sad thing (for McDonald’s) and a good thing (for Burger King), but in my opinion the french fries of BK are now better quality: tastier, crispier, and longer-lasting.

2014-01-07 16.22.24

Upon arriving home I was surprised to see a package waiting for me on my bed – turns out my new lens arrived early! I had been saving my paycheck throughout the year and was able to buy a refurbished Nikon D5100 on sale during Black Friday, and I now have “the only (walk-around) lens I’ll ever need”, at least according to my dad: the Nikkor 35mm f/1.8g lens. Check out my Flickr soon for pictures I plan on taking with my new baby!

it finally arrived!

it finally arrived!

it's so small!

it’s so small!

can't wait to test this baby out!

can’t wait to test this baby out!

Twitter | YouTube | Instagram | Bloglovin’ | Tumblr | Flickr

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 thoughts on “Junk Food and a New Lens

  1. Pingback: Shopping with Mom! | travelin' 20somethin'

  2. Pingback: McDonald’s | travelin' 20somethin'

Leave a Reply

