Colorado College / junior year

Principles of Financial Accounting

So…

Fourth block was particularly challenging for me since I had never taken an Economics class before. On the first day of class my professor, Judy Laux, handed us our syllabus for the block. We found out that we had class everyday from 9:15-12noon (with several class days starting at 9am sharp), and mandatory afternoon labs from 1pm to whatever time we finished our problem sets. Add to that at least an hour of reading homework each night, and we were looking at 5 and 1/2 to 8 and 1/2 hours of Economics a night – I sure hope I get the internship after putting this much work into this class!

Principles of Financial Accounting...

Principles of Financial Accounting…

Tuesday night is usually pasta bar night at the Preserve, and I usually order a plate of chicken with alfredo sauce using macaroni or penne frigate noodles. However this Tuesday night the Preserve had a Thanksgiving bar, so I had a delicious plate of turkey, stuffing, veggies, a buttered roll, some cranberry sauce, and mashed potatoes slathered in gravy instead. Yummy!

what a delicious plate!

what a delicious plate!

Second week started off really well. Donnie and I had planned on going to Fujiyama’s for dinner, and every Monday from 5-6pm Fujiyama’s is half-off. We took advantage of it and invited a couple of other people along – her sister and her friend Patty. I had two orders of kappa maki (cucumber sushi) after a delicious bowl of miso soup. The other girls ordered a variety of sushi, a vegetable tempura platter, and a chicken teriyaki bento box. We ended the night with a trip to Josh and John’s, where I ordered a double scoop of Colorado cookies n’ cream and chocolate chip cookie dough in a waffle cone.

Colorado Cookies n' Cream in a waffle cone!

Colorado Cookies n’ Cream in a waffle cone!

This block I also discovered a new drink at CC Coffee – the “Winter Storm”, a white mocha with vanilla cream and cinnamon. It has 1 shot of expresso per size increase, and when I asked for more flavor and some whipped cream I could barely taste the coffee!

Winter Storm!

Winter Storm!

From Tuesday to Wednesday CC was probably at its coldest, hitting -20 degrees Celsius EXCLUDING wind chill. Tuesday was also the “Marathon Lab” day, where we basically had a two-set problem to solve starting from the end of class lecture. We started at 11:00am and were given pizza in the afternoon so we wouldn’t have to go out and buy food. I ended up finishing at 4:30pm, so Mpesh (who was one of the tutors) and I went upstairs and managed to attend most of the Semester Abroad Orientation.

pizza slices!

pizza slices!

On Thursday the entire world heard about the death of Nelson Mandela, who had passed away on December 5th. There were plenty of status updates on how he affected them (whether personally or the world in general), but one article on Yahoo! struck me the most – several billboards and news articles were mistakenly using the picture of Morgan Freeman, who portrayed Mandela in the 2009 movie Invictus

On a side note, special mention to my professor Judy who brought Donut Mill donuts and Minute Maid orange juice to class for breakfast this week. Delicious!

nothing like fresh low-pulp orange juice!

nothing like fresh low-pulp orange juice!

which to choose...

which to choose…

Melissa (my roomie) told me that they were serving potato cheddar at Wooglin’s, so I immediately called Donnie and we went to Wooglin’s for dinner. The soup was definitely worth the trip!

Potato Cheddar Soup!

Potato Cheddar Soup!

potato cheddar, sliced bread, and hot chocolate with whipped cream!

potato cheddar, sliced bread, and hot chocolate with whipped cream!

Thursday night was 3SE Hall Dinner in Zak’s apartment. Melissa and I definitely had seconds, since it was our last hall dinner as Loomites. I then went to visit the C Store to get some ice cream – what a craving to have on a cold winter night!

Zak's famous pasta (w/o meatballs for me), garlic bread, and salad!

Zak’s famous pasta (w/o meatballs for me), garlic bread, and salad!

my favorite Ben & Jerry's flavor: Chocolate Fudge Brownie

my favorite Ben & Jerry’s flavor: Chocolate Fudge Brownie

already melted?!

already melted?!

On Friday I went to the Preserve for lunch, and discovered the existence of the grilled cheese and tomato soup bar! I am DEFINITELY going back for more future Friday lunch bars! I had a regular grilled cheese with bacon, and some delicious tomato basil soup!

Friday lunch bar at The Preserve

Friday lunch bar at The Preserve

grilled bacon and cheese sandwich + tomato basil soup!

grilled bacon and cheese sandwich + tomato basil soup!

Third week was INSANELY busy for me, since it meant less than two weeks until I leave for Christmas break. On Monday we had our midterms, and the exam was pretty difficult. Luckily I got a pretty decent grade (even if I’m taking the class Pass/Fail, I don’t want to scrape by with a C- passing grade). I was finally able to talk to Student Accounts on Thursday about my study abroad, and managed to log in and check the tuition and program fee for next semester. I was also able to talk to my advisor, Sanjaya, about applying for a PIFP (Public Interest Fellowship Program) summer job – since I’m an international student, I need my advisor to sign off for the internships I apply for because they have to relate to my major.

This week I also discovered the existence of large cinnamon churros at the Taco Bar – $1.99 for a foot-long, and you can have it cut in half! They make it fresh and roll it around in so much cinnamon (not that I’m complaining), that whenever I took a bit cinnamon powder would shoot out of the paper wrapping!

cinnamon churro (cut in half)

cinnamon churro for $1.99 (cut in half)

I spent Thursday night packing instead of studying, and I managed to pack one of my suitcases. Since I’ll be studying abroad for an entire semester, I will need to have the room emptied and I figured that packing suitcases before my storage boxes would be more efficient – anything that didn’t fit in my suitcase would be put in storage. Luckily there is a Native American Clothing Drive happening on campus right now, so all the clothes and other things I don’t want to keep can be donated thanks to NASU (Native American Student Union).

top: stuff on the bed bottom: stuff in the suitcase

top: stuff on the bed
bottom: stuff in the suitcase

got all my stuff for storage in a box! (...and two duffel bags)

got all my stuff for storage in a box! (…and two duffel bags)

toe socks while relaxing!

toe socks while relaxing!

On Friday Donnie and I attended the Admissions Office Holiday Lunch – I had a Ham & Cheese sandwich, a bowl of delicious chicken soup + a toasty piece of bread, and some delicious fruit salad (all from Panera). 

ham&cheese sandwich, fruit salad, chicken soup, and a chunk of bread!

ham&cheese sandwich, fruit salad, chicken soup, and a chunk of bread!

starting in on lunch...

starting in on lunch…

punch, anyone?

punch, anyone?

congratulatory cake!

congratulatory cake!

Third week ended on a high note, so I decided to devote an entire blog post about it. Check it out here:
Entertainment Weekend

Fourth week was definitely a busy week – aside from packing, I had to finalize my Verizon postpaid upgrade, talk to Wells Fargo about studying abroad next semester, and work on my PIFP summer internship application. I managed to upgrade my phone to postpaid but because I upgraded so late, I was not able to take advantage of the Global Plan calling/texting features (which required a minimum 90-day postpaid period). I did managed to inform Wells Fargo about international travel, and I talked to my to recommenders about PIFP, so that’s good at least.

Fourth week finals were quite difficult – a final exam on Thursday, followed by a final group presentation on Sunburst Nursery on Friday. Luckily my group jelled well together, and we all dressed up quite nicely for our presentation, earning a score of 30/35. Since I am taking the class Pass/Fail, all I need (at bare minimum) is a final grade of 70 to pass.

I did find time to relax and hang out with friends though, so check it out here:
“Off-Campus Dining, “Catching Fire”, and a Nature Hike”

I went to King Soopers on Friday night to grab some dinner, since all the food places on campus were already closed. I decided to buy a box of Friday’s potato skins, and baked them for roughly 20 minutes – they were deliciously cheesy and full of bacon!

hmm...White Castle sliders?

hmm…White Castle sliders?

ooh, Friday's potato skins!

ooh, Friday’s potato skins!

not regular, but LOADED

not regular, but LOADED

post-baking!

post-baking!

My flight from Colorado Springs Airport departs at 11am tomorrow, so hopefully there’ll be no problems!

Leave a Reply

