Colorado College / junior year

Off-Campus Dining, “Catching Fire”, and a Nature Hike

So…

Fourth week was definitely hell week this block, and Donnie and I definitely felt like we deserved a break. We decided to go to Fujiyama’s for dinner on Monday, and we made it just in time to grab seats during the 5-6pm “half-off happy hour”. We ended up seated by the sushi bar since there was a lack of tables, but I was glad that I got a chance to talk to the sushi chefs – AND see sushi made right in front of me!

sushi bar!

sushi bar!

2013-12-16 17.28.30

Nacho sushi (spicy tuna, spicy crab, avocado, fried tortilla chip, eel sauce)

2013-12-16 18.31.42

sushi variety platter

2013-12-16 18.31.49

Vegas roll? (eel, crab, avocado, cream cheese, eel sauce, everything deep fried)

2013-12-16 17.22.13

shake nigiri (salmon sushi)

Donnie and I decided to order one set of sushi each and share a set of sushi. She got her Lion King sushi while I got my Kappa maki. We ordered Cowboy sushi (garlic soy grilled beef, cucumber, avocado) to share. We also had some delicious miso soup for starters!

part of the sushi menu

part of the sushi menu

more kinds of sushi

more kinds of sushi

miso soup

miso soup

top row: Lion King rolls bottom row: Cowboy rolls

top row: Lion King rolls
bottom row: Cowboy rolls

Kappa Maki

Kappa Maki

After dinner we went to Josh and John’s for ice cream. i ordered the delicious Colorado Cookies n’ Cream in a waffle cone as per usual, but weirdly enough the cone tasted like sausage – Donnie tried a piece and agreed with me, so I asked for a spoon and used the waffle cone as a bowl instead.

Josh & Johns!

Josh & Johns!

what to pick...

what to pick…

toppings!

toppings!

cone...

cone…

...or cup?

…or cup?

Colorado Cookies n' Cream in a waffle cone!

Colorado Cookies n’ Cream in a waffle cone!

After walking outside the ice cream parlor we saw that Catching Fire was still showing in the movie theater next door. Since we had a pretty relaxed schedule the next day, we decided to buy tickets for the 5pm show (it’s $7 per ticket before 6pm matinee). We also decided to eat dinner downtown after the movie, since Rastall’s would most likely be closed by the time we got back to campus.

After an exhausting Tuesday afternoon filled with group work on the Suburst case for class, I met up with Donnie by Worner and we started the walk to the movie theater. We made it with time to spare, so we grabbed some popcorn and a drink while waiting for the previews. I am really excited to see American Hustle!

Catching Fire!

Catching Fire!

The movie was amazing, as expected, and I cannot wait for Mockingjay! Unfortunately the movie will be split into two, with Part 1 showing on November 2014, and Part 2 showing on November 2015. I can’t wait to see an “I-hate-Katniss” style version of Peeta Mellark – I’m sure Josh Hutcherson will do the character justice!

I ordered dessert at Josh and John’s since it was right beside the movie theater – this time, I asked for my favorite Colorado Cookies n’ cream in a cup – no sausage-tasting waffle cones for me!

this time, in a cup!

this time, in a cup!

For dinner Donnie and I decided to eat at Panino’s. The menu was really awesome, with everything from soups and salads to pizzas, pastas, and calzones. Even the side dishes sounded yummy! I might go back to try the Spaghetti Pie next time – a calzone made of spaghetti noodles with your choice of ground beef, sausage, or chicken + mozzarella & parmesan cheese, covered in marinara sauce. 

Smoothees vs. Freezes

Smoothees vs. Freezes

Pasta sides!

Pasta sides!

appetizers

appetizers

calzones

calzones

Let me tell you, the hot chocolate was deelish! I ordered a meat sauce pasta “side” – as in just the pasta, no salad and/or soup. I am sad to say that I preferred the garlic bread, because the pasta was a bit too spicy and full of onions for my taste. I did like the appetizer to share – pepperoni and cheese squares! Donnie ordered a cheesy calzone, which did not look at all appetizing when cut open – it did taste good though! 

delicious hot chocolate with whipped cream and chocolate sauce!

delicious hot chocolate with whipped cream and chocolate sauce!

pepperoni and cheese squares with marinara sauce

pepperoni and cheese squares with marinara sauce

the famous cheesy calzone

the famous cheesy calzone

meat sauce pasta side with garlic bread

meat sauce pasta side with garlic bread

On Wednesday I had a delightful lunch with Joanna at Benji’s. We had the same order – chicken tenders and curly fries, as per usual. We decided to take a walk and just chat in order to catch up and talk about study abroad decisions, the future – a whole lot of deep (and funny) stuff. We walked the running trail behind CC and spent a good 30-45 minutes just enjoying the nice, sunny weather.

the bride from a distance

the bride from a distance

nearing the end of the bridge!

nearing the end of the bridge!

One thought on “Off-Campus Dining, “Catching Fire”, and a Nature Hike

  1. Pingback: Principles of Financial Accounting | College on the Block Plan

Leave a Reply

