Colorado College / junior year / Thanksgiving

Thanksgiving Break 2013

So…

This year Thanksgiving fell on an awkward date – November 29th was during what was supposed to be 1st week of Block 4. Instead we had 3 days of class, a Thanksgiving break (which is technically the length of a block break), and three straight weeks of class – ending on a FRIDAY instead of the usual Wednesday.

Since I knew I’d be staying on-campus for the entire break, I signed up for Zak’s Thanksgiving party at Loomis. Donnie and I were supposed to lead a tour at 1pm but nobody showed up so we went back to the Montgomery lounge to chat about our study abroad plans. We had this brilliant idea of flying to Greece for 4 days then spending the rest of our 5 day Spring Break in Paris – unfortunately, it was WAY too expensive (as in $1,000+ expensive, NOT including room/board and food) so for now we’re sticking to our plan of Spring Break in Paris. I managed to find a budget hostel for less than $400 per person for 9 nights (which includes breakfast, wifi and our own private bathroom) so I think that’ll be money well-spent!

My current class is Principles of Financial Accounting, probably one of my more difficult classes so far since I’ve never taken an Economics class before. We have mandatory afternoon sessions everyday (yes, we also have morning class from 9am-12noon) but since many of us were flying home right after class this Wednesday, the afternoon class was optional. I spent the rest of the afternoon and early evening catching up on my shows (Criminal Minds Season 9, and Grimm Season 3). I also downloaded and read through the 50+ pages of the “2014 London & Florence Student Handbook” pdf. It was quite informative, detailing everything from trip preparations, to housing, to classes and food. Because I start off in London, I will definitely be bringing more layers and cold-weather clothes than the Florence-start group!

PDF Guide Table of Contents

PDF Guide Table of Contents

ACM London & Florence: Arts in Context 2014 Schedule

ACM London & Florence: Arts in Context 2014 Schedule

ACM 2014 Packing List

The PDF guide also contained images of our housing in both London and Florence, plus famous tourist attractions in each city, such as the London Eye and the brightly colored vespas on cobblestone streets in Florence.

the London apartments

the London apartments

what each suite looks like

what each suite looks like

Hotel Duca D'Aosta in Florence

Hotel Duca D’Aosta in Florence

Thursday was the big day – I tried to do the readings and homework assignments for Monday, but (like I had thought), it just wasn’t going to happen! Instead I slept in until around 11am then watched several episodes of Prince of Tennis. Soon enough it was 5pm – time for some delicious Thanksgiving dinner! Unfortunately I forgot to photograph the scrumptious gravy bowls (yes, plural – one vegetarian gravy and one regular!) when they were placed on the table 😦

lemonade vs. hot cocoa

lemonade vs. hot cocoa

veggies and bread rolls...

veggies and bread rolls…

turkey breast and stuffing!

turkey breast and stuffing!

dark meat and hot mashed potatoes!

dark meat and hot mashed potatoes (plus cranberry sauce)!

pumpkin pie vs apple pie

pumpkin pie vs apple pie

apple pecan pie vs. chocolate pecan pie

apple pecan pie vs. chocolate pecan pie

During the dinner I got to catch up with Lauren and Jo, and Odegi and Naveen were nice enough to invite us to watch Catching Fire with them. Lauren and I decided to go (I hadn’t seen it yet, and I was really excited) but Jo had RA duty. She did say that she had already seen it so I didn’t feel as bad, luckily.

Thanksgiving dinner - first plate! Turkey breast and dark meat, stuffing, bread roll, cranberry sauce, veggies, and TONS of gravy on my turkey and mashed potatoes!

Thanksgiving dinner – first plate! Turkey breast and dark meat, stuffing, bread roll, cranberry sauce, veggies, and TONS of gravy on my turkey and mashed potatoes!

...FIRST slice of delicious apple pie + whipped cream!

…FIRST slice of delicious apple pie + whipped cream!

We decided to watch the film in Tinseltown and made it with a couple of minutes to spare – we even managed to see a couple of previews! I am really excited for Noah and Divergent. Because we just came from a delicious but filling dinner, we decided not to buy popcorn or drinks, and just sat down in the middle (perfect seats!) to enjoy the show.

Tinseltown!

Tinseltown!

Inside the cinema...

Inside the cinema…

Time to watch "Catching Fire"!

Time to watch “Catching Fire”!

After the 7:30pm movie (which was AMAZING, I can’t believe I have to wait at least a year for Mockingjay) we decided to head back. Lauren and I were dropped off by Boetcher and I headed back to my room. It was after 10pm and I was already surprisingly tired, so I decided to call it a night.

Friday was the big day – Black Friday sales both in stores and online! I managed to get the stuff on my wish list ALL ON SALE – including my boots and coat from L.L. Bean, and my refurbished Nikon D5100 (with a refurbished 18-105mm VR lens) from . I am still waiting until tomorrow for the New York laptop tote from Graceship to go on sale – if it doesn’t, then I found it for half-price on eBay.

Forever 21

Forever 21

even more Forever 21

even more Forever 21

H&M

H&M

American Eagle Outfitters

American Eagle Outfitters

Urban Outfitters

Urban Outfitters

Sadly stores like Zara and Victoria’s Secret were still too expensive, despite the “selected items on sale” (and the items I wanted weren’t on sale anyways). Although Amazon had Black Friday sales WEEK, I did not end up buying anything. Tomorrow starts Cyber Monday (either full day, two-day, or an entire week again like Amazon) so hopefully the Graceship tote goes on sale!

I was too lazy to cook on Saturday so I ordered two subs from Jimmy John’s: one Slim Smoked Ham & Provolone Cheese Sub with extra Bacon (my usual), and another #1 “Pepe”: smoked ham, provolone cheese, tomato slices,  lettuce, and mayo (easy on the mayo, of course). I also ordered one bag of Salt & Vinegar chips per sub!

#1 "Pepe": smoked ham, provolone cheese, lettuce, tomato, and mayo!

#1 “Pepe”: smoked ham, provolone cheese, lettuce, tomato, and (easy on the) mayo!

Sunday was my work day, since I had been procrastinating as usual. Thus I cracked open my books and started working on the chapter reading for Monday. I hope the problem sets will be as easy as the ones we did during first week!

Principles of Financial Accounting...

Principles of Financial Accounting…

 

Leave a Reply

