Colorado College / junior year

Spanish 316 – The Three Faces of Latin America

So…

This block was eventful for two reasons: it was my last Spanish class requirement at CC in order to fulfill my Spanish Language minor, and it was with Sal Bizzarro. The block covered four different authors and their works: Los Veintes Poemas de Amor and La Canción Desesperada by Pablo Neruda, Crónica de una muerte anunciada by Gabriel García Márquez, Ficciones by Jorge Luis Borges, and Todo los fuegos el fuego by Julio Cortázar.  

First week was probably the easiest week for me, since we focused on poem analysis – similar to what I did in Sal’s class of Spanish 306 during the summer. I was able to find free podcasts for several languages: Spanish (which I want to eventually master), French (useful for my 2014 Spring Break trip to Paris), Italian (necessary for my homestay situation while in Florence), and Mandarin Chinese (a useful skill set).

Language Podcasts!

Language Podcasts!

On the first Wednesday of block 3 the Honor Council had dinner with Dean Mike Edmonds at his house. The attire was business-casual so we all dressed up for great conversation and a delicious dinner of jambalaya!

jambalaya at Dean Mike Edmond's house!

jambalaya at Dean Mike Edmond’s house!

Second week was also when I decided to start teaching myself how to do calligraphy.

calligraphy pen, metal nibs, an ink pot, and a moleskine notebook!

necessary materials: a calligraphy pen, several types of metal nibs, an ink pot, and a moleskine notebook!

first attempt at calligraphy: "I'm still smiling"

first attempt at calligraphy: “I’m still smiling”

On the November 8, the Friday of 2nd week, the Philippines was struck by one of the strongest typhoons ever recorded in history: Typhoon Haiyan. Although the international community was quick to offer aid and assist with the relief efforts, nearly 20,000 Pinoys were displaced or injured, and nearly 5,000 were found dead.

Social Media was a big help in getting monetary donations to the Philippines

Social Media such as Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter were a big help in getting monetary donations to the Philippines

Third week was quite stressful, since I had several Honor Council meetings to prepare for: information sessions for Honor Council applicants, and Ad Hoc meetings. However the Monday of third week meant a wonderful (if more than 1-hour late) dinner at Merruth’s house as we were having a meeting: Fujiyama was half-off! Unfortunately Merruth had to wait for more than 1 hour for our order, AND we didn’t even get chopsticks or soy sauce!

only three of the different kinds of sushi that were ordered!

only three of the different kinds of sushi that were ordered!

I received word from my ACM representative that I was lacking a couple of items in my UK visa application, so she had to send my forms back to me. One good thing about 3rd week was that Zak, the Loomis RLC (Residential Life Coordinator), and Beckie, our new desk coordinator, organized a “Residents Appreciation Week” by having baskets of free candy situated in the Loomis lobby. How sweet (pun intended)!

(Loomis) Residents Appreciation Week!

(Loomis) Residents Appreciation Week!

(We) ...Starbursts!

(We)
…Starbursts!

(Love) ...Pixie Sticks!

(Love)
…Pixie Sticks!

(Our) ...M&Ms arranged by the color of the rainbow!

(Our)
…M&Ms arranged by the color of the rainbow!

(Loomis) ...Jolly Ranchers!

(Loomis)
…Jolly Ranchers!

(Residents) ...Lollipops!

(Residents)
…Lollipops!

(Candy Shoppe) ...Skittles arranged by the color of the rainbow!

(Candy Shoppe)
…Skittles arranged by the color of the rainbow!

Third week also brought an interesting character to class: one of Lily’s housemates owns a dog-in-training, and Lily was allowed to bring her to class while her housemate was gone. She was an adorable 8-month old, and quite hyper too!

Do Not Touch! :(

First Rule: Do Not Touch (when wearing the vest)! 😦

Fourth week was definitely hell: it was as if I had NO time at all to do much of anything. Our final papers were due Monday at 9:30am (printed and signed with the Honor Code), and I managed to get to class on time because I had printed my paper the night before (thank god!). We decided to have the class dinner at 6pm on Monday night via majority vote, so we all met at the Slocum Parking lot to carpool to La Carreta, a delicious family-run Mexican restaurant around a 10-minute drive from CC campus.

Having been to the restaurant once before (with Kathy during my Beginner Spanish class last year), I knew I wanted to try something different from the quesadillas I ordered last time. I ended up choosing orange juice to drink, and enjoyed the appetizer of chips and salsa while waiting for the flautas: a delicious mix of 4 beef or chicken tacos (I chose beef) that looked like Filipino lumpiawith beans and melted cheese on the side, and a delicious portion of flavored rice!

La Carreta menu

La Carreta menu

chips con salsa!

chips con salsa!

zuma de naranja!

zuma de naranja!

flautas con frijoles y queso (beans & cheese), y arroz (rice)!

flautas con frijoles y queso (beans & cheese), y arroz (rice)!

There were 9 of us students who went to the dinner, including Sal and his wife Kathy. I managed to take pictures of their orders before they dove into the food – it was quite difficult, and I did get a few teasingly annoyed glares. Peter, Nico, Trina, and Lily were used to it though – we went to Salamanca together this summer, and they never saw me without my camera!

agua horchata (cinnamon rice milk)

agua horchata (cinnamon rice milk)

Kathy ordered sopa!

Kathy ordered sopa!

vegetales con guacamole for Kathy's soup!

vegetales con guacamole for Kathy’s soup!

Mitra's enchillada vegetariano!

Michelle’s enchillada vegetariano!

Michelle's order!

Mitra’s chicken enchilladas!

Jordan's order!

Jordan’s order of chicken fajitas!

Lily and Emma's orders!

Lily and Emma’s tacos!

Trina's order!

Trina’s order!

Nico's order!

Nico’s order!

We ended the night with three delicious plates of sopapillas, deep-fried pastries sprinkled with powdered sugar (and real sugar), and drizzled with honey! 

mmm, yummy!

mmm, yummy!

aerial view!

aerial view!

I spent the rest of Monday night reviewing the readings from the second half of the block. I woke up early Tuesday morning (6am, an awful hour to be awake) in order to shower and continue reviewing for my final oral exam. I then met up with Donnie in the Loomis lobby at 7:45 to buy hot chocolate with whipped cream at Colorado Coffee. We met Rebecca (the other tour guide) inside Cossitt, helped ourselves to some breakfast, and chatted a bit with Rachel, the program coordinator.

breakfast menu for the day!

breakfast menu for the day!

assorted breads, muffins, and pastries

assorted breads, muffins, and pastries

assorted yogurt

assorted yogurt

seasonal fresh fruit platter (honeydew slices, cantaloupe slices, green grapes, pineapple slices, orange slices, strawberries, etc)

seasonal fresh fruit platter (honeydew slices, cantaloupe slices, green grapes, pineapple slices, orange slices, strawberries, etc)

quinoa porridge with coconut milk

quinoa porridge with coconut milk

traditional oatmeal

traditional oatmeal

oatmeal/quinoa toppings

oatmeal/quinoa toppings

applewood smoked bacon

applewood smoked bacon

At 8 o’clock we entered the professor’s lounge and spoke to Jill Tiefenthaler (the president of CC!) before splitting up: Rebecca led the group of executives at El Pomar, while Donnie and I teamed up to give the other ACM college presidents a tour. At exactly 9am we arrived back in Cossitt, thanked the presidents for their attention, and received Amazon gift cards for leading the tours!

Amazon gift certificate!

Amazon gift certificate!

From 9am to 10:25am I spent my time in Benji’s, reviewing with Trina. We were in the same finals group so we walked to Armstrong together, still trying to remember and recite as many themes and significant plot moments as possible. When we entered the classroom, Sal offered us some delicious cookies from King Sooper’s!

I can never say no to cookies!

I can never say no to cookies!

After the final exam, I went back to Benjis to pick up the rest of my things. Unfortunately, when I tried to turn my laptop on, all I could see was a white screen with what looked like a stop sign in the middle. I spent 30 minutes on the phone with Apple help providers, but unfortunately I had to take a taxi to the Apple Store in Briargate. While waiting for my laptop to get fixed (which took several hours), I spent my time wandering around Briargate.

I visited Sephora and finally gave in, asking one of the make up artists to match my foundation and concealer shades – I was curious! Olivia used this pretty cool machine that reminded me of a small remote, but with a tiny camera attached. She took three photos of my skin: one on my forehead, one on my cheek/jawline, and one on my neck. After averaging out the skin color on a screen, the screen listed several different types and brands of foundation that matched my skin tone (which is apparently between an NC40-42, depending on how much time I spend in the sun).

sample brands and products! (the list was too long for a screenshot)

sample foundation brands and products! (the list was too long for a screenshot)

After thanking her I decided to buy one of the Clinique Chubby Sticks (advertised as a “moisturizing lip color balm”) and was gifted with a small bag of travel-sized goodies when I decided to sign up to be a “Beauty Insider”.

Sephora!

Sephora!

Clinique Chubby Stick Intense in "Roomiest Rose"

Clinique Chubby Stick Intense in “Roomiest Rose”

The Apple personnel were wonderful in keeping me updated on my laptop situation. Apparently the reason was a malfunctioning cable that repeatedly detaches from my internal hard drive – it disconnected the first time my hard drive crashed, and it was the reason why my laptop could not find the hard drive when rebooting. Apple gave me a new cable this time, and because of Apple Care I was still covered by insurance = $0.00 bill!

I decided to grab a Starbucks drink since I still had some money left on my Starbucks card. Because Melissa (my roomie) and I were having a bad week, I thought we needed a little pick-me-up and ordered a drink for her as well!

L-R: tall double chocolatey chip frappucino (Andie), grande Pikes Place Roast (aka black coffee for Melissa)

L-R: tall double chocolatey chip frappucino (Andie), grande Pikes Place Roast (aka black coffee for Melissa)

Then I headed back to Loomis to enjoy some of Tyler’s Coffee Cart goodness – either hot chocolate (definitely Swiss Miss, by taste!) or apple cider. I’m so glad my block ended on a Tuesday night, because Wednesday will be spent giving campus tours, AND figuring out my transportation to and from Aurora, CO on Thursday for my 11am UK visa application appointment!

One thought on “Spanish 316 – The Three Faces of Latin America

Leave a Reply

