Colorado College / Halloween / junior year

Halloween 2013 – VDP and double midnight breakfast!

So…

Today was probably one of my top 3 “most fun” days at CC so far…at least for the first part of the semester. Trying to decide between two potential costumes – a mime or pikachu – was stressful enough, but I also had several things to do for my extra curricular activities: Honor Council applications are starting this block, this weekend is the Multicultural Open House which means more tours, AND I’m still working on my UK visa application for my semester abroad. All in all it wasn’t a great start to the day, but in the end I had lots of fun and had a great time hanging out with friends!

During class today we were unfortunately told about our 9am start the next day. It wouldn’t be such a big deal if it weren’t for the fact that 1) class usually starts at 9:30am, and 2) it was Halloween. But because I knew I wouldn’t be getting any of my homework done later in the afternoon, I did all of it right after class. I also was able to sneak a couple of cupcakes from the Loomis desk, yum!

Halloween cupcakes!

Halloween cupcakes!

I ended up deciding to be a mime for Halloween so I wore my black-and-white striped dress, black leggings (because it is now cold in the evenings), and my trusty ankle boots (which I have been wearing basically everyday since I bought them). I asked around for white gloves but it seems as if none of my friends have any, so I went gloveless. 

The first event of the night was at Loomis, which was bobbing for apples (although some people called it bobbing for pink eye), and donuts on strings. I was able to grab a donut after several tries (it’s difficult when the donut is swinging and you aren’t allowed to use your hands) but I left the apple bobbing for the others.

bobbing for apples...aka bobbing for pink eye!

bobbing for apples…aka bobbing for pink eye!

donuts on a string!

donuts on a string!

The next place I went to was Matthias, home to the Mad Scientist Lab. I had a lot of fun guessing what each bowl ACTUALLY contained, but the last bowl was definitely the grossest! 

bowl 1: "eyeballs"

bowl 1: “eyeballs”

bowls 2 and 3: "tongue" and "brains"

bowls 2 and 3: “tongue” and “brains”

bowls 4 and 5: "human fingers" and "puss"

bowls 4 and 5: “human fingers” and “pus”

final bowl: "vomit"

final bowl: “vomit”

Matthias also had a table just for free snacks. I skipped the chips and immediately went for the cookies, mini powdered donuts, and candy bowls. There is no such thing as too much sweets on Halloween!

free cookies!

free cookies!

free mini donuts + candy!

free mini donuts + candy!

Next up on the list was Slocum, the land (or dorm) of facepainting, karaoke, and photobooth fun. I met Marilyn Monroe (aka Jess), who did a pretty swell job of painting my face, if I do say so myself. I also enjoyed performances of the Pokemon theme song, Bohemian Rhapsody by Queen, and Eye of the Tiger. I joined my friend Colleen (who came dressed as Katniss from The Hunger Games) in photobooth fun, and after that we said hi to Joanna before leaving Slocum to head towards Old Town.

lights on the grand piano!

lights on the grand piano!

candy, anyone?

candy, anyone?

apple cider!

apple cider!

Shapoopie the shark!

Shapoopie the shark!

Marilyn Monroe is doing my face paint!

Marilyn Monroe is doing my face paint!

Mime and Katniss Everdeen

Mime and Katniss Everdeen

thanks Marilyn Monroe!

thanks Marilyn Monroe!

Bemis meant design-your-own cookies, which was actually pretty fun (although I didn’t end up eating my cookie because I wanted to save room for the goodies at Worner). I ended up forgetting to have my Halloween passport stamped before leaving Bemis, so the night ended with my passport having 5/10 stamps instead of 6/10.

Mime (me) + Minion (Elle)

Mime (me) + Minion (Elle)

red-haired leopard (Flora)!

red-haired leopard (Flora)!

Flora's cake!

Flora’s cake!

Flora and I + our 'wedding cake'

Flora and I + our ‘wedding cake’

Lady Bemis

Lady Bemis

Gaylord in Worner at 9pm meant the start of Halloween Video Dance Party (aka VDP), but when I peaked to check it out Rochelle and the other staff members were still giving instructions to the security staff, so I decided to come back at 10pm when people were actually there. I spent the hour between 9-10pm in my room watching a couple of episodes of Grimm Season 3, then headed back to Worner. Upon arrival I was glad to see that they had my favorite – chocolate mousse shooters!

MORE candy at Worner!

MORE candy at Worner!

Halloween cookies!

Halloween cookies!

description

description

mini pumpkin muffins!

mini pumpkin muffins!

description

description

chocolate mousse shooters!

chocolate mousse shooters!

chocolate mousse shooters close-up!

chocolate mousse shooters close-up! (my all-time favorite Halloween treat!)

Upon arriving at Worner I was also able to see a lot of my friends, and I am proud to say that I guessed everyone’s costume correctly this Halloween! I saw friends before, during, and after VDP in a variety of creative costumes, so I can’t say that I have favorites because they were ALL amazing!

L-R: Carlo, me, Alex

L-R: Carlo, me, Alex

Trina and I

Trina and I

John and I

John and I

L-R: Emma Watson in the Bling Ring (Lauren), Mime (me), Pop Art (Meru)

L-R: Emma Watson in the Bling Ring (Lauren), Mime (me), Pop Art (Meru)

Clementine and I

Clementine and I

Moose Beanie Baby (Emma) and Mime (me)

Moose Beanie Baby (Emma) and Mime (me)

Jake and I

Jake and I

L-R: witch (Hanna), Snooki (Amairani), Mime (me)

L-R: witch (Hanna), Snooki (Amairani), Mime (me)

Of course, I managed to take a couple of snaps during VDP in Gaylord, which was crazy fun as usual! I’m glad they played fun songs while I was there – Party Rock being a clear favorite!

Video Dance Party!

Video Dance Party!

VDP effect

arsty VDP effect

The last campus event of the night was the DOUBLE Midnight Breakfast at Rastall. Usually after events like these there would be 1 midnight breakfast from midnight to 1am, but Campus Activities was nice enough to add another from 11pm-midnight for us hungry participants.

Midnight Breakfast: pancakes and tots at every table!

Midnight Breakfast: pancakes and tots at every buffet-style table!

Inside Rastall was the display of the winners of the pumpkin carving competition. I LOVED the winning pumpkin, but I do have to say that the 3rd prize winner definitely deserves the title of “scariest” pumpkin carving!

yay for pumpkin carving!

yay for pumpkin carving!

DSC02008

1st place - best overall

1st place – best overall

2nd place - most creative

2nd place – most creative

3rd place - scariest

3rd place – scariest

…AND after all this I still managed to get back to my room right before the clock struck 12am (aka midnight), which meant that although I was a mime this Halloween, this Cinderella ain’t turning into a pumpkin – better luck next time, fairy godmother!

UPDATE 11/2/2013: I decided to extend Halloween to November 1st because there were a couple of events I wanted to attend. The first was the Texas Hold ‘Em tournament in Jackson House at 5pm, and the second event was S’mores in the Tipi on Worner Quad at 6pm. Unfortunately, I had sprained my ankle slightly today and it was a bit too cold for me to venture outside (plus, I was already warm and cozy in my room). I DID manage to turn in my Halloween passport to Campus Activities and receive a little goody bag though! I really hope I win the raffle, there’s no such thing as too much candy!

Halloween Passport!

Halloween Passport!

candy bag reward!

candy bag reward!

my candy bag stash

my candy bag stash

UPDATE 11/04/2013: I ended up winning one of the Halloween Passport raffle baskets, so yay for even more candy!

more candy in a basket!

more candy in a basket!

2 thoughts on “Halloween 2013 – VDP and double midnight breakfast!

  1. Wrong spelling! Whoever wrote puss doesn’t know how to spell!!! Puss means cat or girl, whereas pus is a thick opaque yellowish white fluid matter. I’m surprised that you didn’t notice that!

Leave a Reply

