Block Break / Colorado College / junior year

Block Break 2 – Social Security, Wooglin’s Deli, and Campus Tours

So…

This block break started off with a bang! Right after class ended, I immediately went to Roger Smith to confirm my Social Security Number application requirements. I then went to see Karen Klein since she had completed the School Official form on my behalf. Roger had told me that I might need to drive up to Denver to ask for my I-94 number, since immigration is now paperless and I was unable to log in on the website. Luckily Karen’s computer worked its magic and she was able to request my number for me, as well as print out the information. My friend Maddy was also applying for a Social Security number so we decided to go to the office together on Thursday. 

The rest of Wednesday I spent helping Melissa (my roommate) program her new phone. She had bought an iPhone 4s and after placing a screen protector, and putting on her Otterbox case, we were ready to turn the phone on. We suffered at least 2 hours of technical difficulty because her iCloud account refused to sign in on her phone, although it was working on her laptop. Eventually she upgraded to iOS7 and that fixed the problem. She immediately downloaded some apps, and after logging in, was able use her phone – welcome to the 21st century! During this entire process, Melissa and I tried a bit of the new tea I bought: Fast Lane Celestial Seasonings Caffeinated Black Tea. According to the box it each 8-oz. serving of tea contains 110 mg, so it was to no surprise that we were a bit wired! The tea contains caffeine, cola nut and eleuthero for the strong pick-me-up, but also hints of spicy cinnamon, nutmeg and licorice for taste.

Celestial Seasonings Fast Lane Caffeinated Black Tea

Celestial Seasonings Fast Lane Caffeinated Black Tea

We went to Wooglin’s for a dinner celebration (and because we were starving). I ordered the hot chocolate with whipped cream, while she ordered an apple cider. I got a bacon cheeseburger for dinner and Melissa went with chicken and cheese quesadilla pieces (she prefers salsa with her quesadillas, but I prefer sour cream whenever I order the quesadillas).

hot chocolate and whipped cream vs. apple cider

hot chocolate and whipped cream vs. apple cider

bacon cheeseburger for me, chicken & cheese quesadilla for Melissa!

bacon cheeseburger and chips for me, chicken & cheese quesadilla for Melissa!

On Thursday I woke up at 8:30am to get ready to leave at 9am. Maddy and I ended up leaving at 9:30 because I had left my passport in my dorm room, and Maddy needed Karen Klein to correct certain information on her letter. We arrived at around 9:45am and there was already a line outside the office. It was a bit cold so we were glad to get inside. According to the officer, if we want to enter w/o a line we should come at 8:00 because the doors open at 8:45, and people start lining up even then! When we entered the building we went through a security checkpoint and scanning system. After that we were asked to use the computer to print out a time slot number. We then waited for more than an hour before finally meeting an assistant. Our applications went smoothly and we were told that our cards should arrive in our mailboxes within 2 weeks! When we got back to campus, it was around noon and we were starving so we decided to go to Benji’s for lunch. I had a bacon cheeseburger and chips (again), while Maddy ordered the chicken and cheese quesadilla (déjà vu anyone?).

On Thursday I also received amazing news. My brother Manolo had texted me to tell me to check his Instagram. I immediately saw a picture of a French bulldog, and I was so excited because I didn’t think my parents were serious about get a new dog this soon. I had sent a list of names to my dad the day before but I thought it was more of a “just-in-case” scenario. I was glad I did because it was definitely my turn to name our dog – my parents and my brother already had their turn! So welcome to the family Elmo!

meet Elmo, our new French bulldog!

meet Elmo, our new French bulldog!

Thursday night was definitely quite chilly, so before Skyping with my parents I decided to try on a onesie I had gotten from the “Free” box at the end of school last year. It fit me pretty well, and with my knee socks and beanie I was as cozy as can be. My mom actually had Elmo with her when we Skyped so I was very happy to see the little guy – he was so well-behaved and quiet, weird for a dog in our family!

onesie time!

onesie time!

Friday was work day, basically. Upon returning to campus on Thursday I submitted the Social Security office receipt to the Payroll office in Armstrong, and a copy of the receipt to the Financial Aid office in Cutler. I was then told that I would be allowed to work, but I would have to wait for my actual SS number to arrive in the mail before getting paid. So until then I will be entering my hours on my Google Drive document, as usual. I hope they don’t tax my first paycheck too much!

Saturday was pretty much work in the afternoon, chill times in the evening. I woke up at 11:30am so Melissa and I decided to have brunch at Rastall. I ended up eating macaroni and cheese w/ bacon bits, and a fruit platter of grapes, cantaloupe, and watermelon. I lead both 1pm and 3pm tours, the 1pm tour being student-only (co-lead by Donnie) and the 3pm tour being parent-only. I was happily surprised to have interactive parents and students today, with at least one question asked per participant.

Because I woke up late today I was still feeling a bit groggy during my 1pm tour. In between my 1pm and 3pm tour I ordered a “Bull Berry Buzz” from CC Coffee. The smoothie consisted of crushed strawberries, vanilla cream, and a shot of Red Bull – perfect for that extra kick one needs to continue through their day.

Berry Bull Buzz

Berry Bull Buzz

The weather today was beautiful, with autumn leaves in full splendor. It was perfectly warm and sunny for the 1pm tour, but during the 3pm tour it began to get a bit chilly. Unfortunately that meant that Donnie and I cancelled our plans for some Josh and John’s ice cream.

autumn at CC

autumn at CC

In between my afternoon tours, I was also able to rent my books for 3rd block from the CC Bookstore in Worner. I have 3 books to read for my Spanish 316 class, “The Three Faces of Latin America,” which I guess means reading at least 1 book per week. After my tours I headed back to my dorm room and was able to find the first episode of Season 3 of the tv show Grimm online – it is one of my current favorite shows to watch. The episode was full of suspense, and I can’t wait for episode 2! 

Sunday was my final day of block break, so I didn’t feel like doing much. I woke up at around 11:30am and just checked my Facebook before heading off to lunch at Rastall with Melissa. The lunch menu today wasn’t particularly inspiring, since they didn’t have bacon when we arrived – not to mention the lack of crunchy grapes! I had macaroni with alfredo sauce, a couple of cinnamon rolls, and a melon mix (cantaloupe and watermelon) to top it all off.

macaroni with alfredo sauce + cinnamon rolls!

macaroni with alfredo sauce + cinnamon rolls!

The rest of the day I spent in Loomis, catching up to the new episodes of Grimm and The Vampire Diaries. I also managed to unpack 1 of my 2 storage boxes. Zak was kind enough to allow me to store one of the boxes downstairs, since only one box could fit in my dorm room. Even though I only managed to unpack 1 box over the break, progress is progress!

winter clothes and bedding box: check!

winter clothes and bedding box: check!

I wasn’t sure if The Preserve was already open in time for dinner, so I ended up ordering a couple of Slim Ham and Cheese subs from Jimmy John’s (with the usual addition of bacon!). I also ordered two bags of their Salt & Vinegar chips, a perfect side for the subs! And luckily I still had a Tropicana apple juice in my fridge – dinner was delicious!

Jimmy John's for dinner!

Jimmy John’s for dinner!

This Block Break was pretty chill for the most part, and a much-needed rest period for both Melissa and I. I’m looking forward to my last Spanish class at CC, but I also can’t help but wish for at least one more day of rest and relaxation before starting a new class!

Leave a Reply

