Block Break / Colorado College / junior year

Block Break 1 – Tour Guide all day, errday

So…

I don’t usually write about block breaks – simply because I tend to do nothing worth blogging about during my breaks. However during this block break I decided to work everyday as a Tour Guide, because money makes the world go round (but actually though). On Thursday afternoon at 1pm, Zak (the RLC of Loomis) hosted a banana split party in the Loomis lounge. I had a 1 o’clock tour so I missed part of Jurassic Park and the bananas for the banana split, but luckily I was just in time for some strawberry, chocolate, and vanilla ice cream. I decided to hold out on the whipped cream for today.

Banana Split (minus the banana)

Banana Split (minus the banana)

After sitting inside the lounge and enjoying the movie for a bit, I left to meet up with my fellow tour guides in Cutler for the 3pm tour. For the rest of the week I did the 3pm tours, which consisted of a student or two and their parents. However, on Saturday we definitely had to call in reinforcements because of the number of families at hand. If I’m not mistaken, we had around 14 families scheduled for the 1pm tour, and roughly 12 families scheduled for the 3pm tour. Luckily 2 other tour guides arrived so we were able to split the families up into 2 groups of parents, and 2 groups of students each time.

One of my favorite things about block break is the lack of people on campus. It meant no lines for any of the food at Rastall, so I was able to get all of my favorites right away (and while the food was still nice and hot): tater tots, macaroni and cheese (with bacon), and some fresh fruit!

a favorite meal at Rastall

a favorite meal at Rastall

I also took advantage of the peace and quiet by watching movies (and tv shows) on my laptop WITHOUT using my headphones. It was nice to be able to hear the audio without turning the volume to its maximum capacity, and my ears definitely appreciated the lack of headphone use (sometimes the temple tips on my eyeglasses dig into the back of my ears if I wear my headphones long enough). I also enjoyed a few nice cups of Yogi tea (Echinacea Immune Support with some Busy Bee clover honey to be exact) – it is starting to get quite cold, but not cold enough to need winter clothes thankfully. 

Tea Time!

Tea Time!

UPDATE 10/04/2013: During my tours I always try to ensure that I have a card to give to any of the parents (or students) interested in contacting me. Because there are so many of us, tour guides have a general “Colorado College Admission Tour Guide” business card. We are given space to write down our names on the front, and our emails on the back of the card.

Business Card

Business Card

I had given cards to several families during the block break, and when I opened my Worner Box today I received a surprise thank you note in the mail. It really made my day because I wasn’t expecting anything. Good luck and I hope you get into your dream college, Kav!

what an amazing surprise!

what an amazing surprise!

Leave a Reply

