Colorado College / Salamanca / sophomore year / Spain / Summer / Travel

Day 40 in España – ¡fiestas, the 4th of July, and a new piercing!

So…

Today was the last day of Spanish 306 with Professor Salvino Bizzarro. Because we had accomplished all of our homework yesterday – the presentations on poem analysis in class, plus the one page response paper – all we had left to do was finish writing and editing our final paper. I chose to answer question #1, which was a comparison question on the movie ¡No! and the book Los Días del Arcoiris by Antonio Skarmeta. 

I originally planned on waking up at around 10am so I could have enough time to talk to Priscilla about my grammar and Sal about my topic, but I ended up waking up at around 1:30, just in time for lunch. After a quick lunch of paella with my host parents, I quickly edited my paper and left to go to the internet cafe to print. I arrived with around 10 minutes to spare, and quickly checked over any spelling and grammar errors before printing. I met up with Gianina at the Plaza, and together with Amairani, Josie and Hanna, we went to the tattoo parlor near the Colegio Fonseca where everyone else had gotten their piercings.

I had to sign a waiver before talking to the person who would be doing my piercing, and I managed to get across that I´d like the half-hoop on the cartilage of my left ear. It turns out that they place a dot with permanent marker in the place you want your piercing done, just to show you where it would be. It was a bit funny because he kept asking me if I was doing alright – I guess some people get a bit nervous when they see the needle. It was a bit awkward when he asked “¿Estas bien?” when I had the needle in my ear – I don´t think anybody would have said yes then!

After I got my piercing done, he gave me instructions on how to care for it: 

1. Clean it carefully and thoroughly using only water and soap 2-3 times a day for two weeks
2. Try not to get it trapped in my hair
3. If I go swimming (especially in pools) do not get my head wet for at least the first week
4. After the first two weeks, clean it carefully once or twice a week

All in all, it took around 15 minutes and we quickly thanked them before going home for dinner. I still had a lot of packing to do, and I wanted to be able to get at least 8 hours of sleep before boarding the bus to Portugal tomorrow!

After I arrived home I had a quick dinner before getting ready for our farewell fiesta with the host families. Pilar (my host mom) and I drove to the Colegio Fonseca but we had to circle around several times because of the lack of parking space. We finally made it inside and met the rest of the families and students on the second floor. I definitely enjoyed the food and drinks that was served!

drinks for everyone!

drinks for everyone!

tapas: cheese slices, cold (ham) cuts, etc.

tapas: cheese slices, cold (ham) cuts, etc.

croquetas!

croquetas!

half a watermelon topped with watermelon pieces on bbq sticks!

half a watermelon topped with watermelon pieces on bbq sticks!

After Kathy gave her introductory/thank-you speech, each class gave their end of the program performance. I was so proud of my fellow 305 classmates for helping us win “Best Performance”!

Spanish 100 students covering “Summer Lovin'”

Spanish 200 students singing their version of “Don’t Worry, Be Happy”

Spanish 305 students performing their version of “Ay, Carmela”

After the student performances, we were treated to a performance by Trina and Professor Salvino Bizzarro, to the tune of “When the saints come marching in”. Unfortunately my camera died before the performance ended, but I think I managed to film a good part of it! 

The fiesta was not only for videos, though – it was also a chance for us to say our goodbyes to our host families, since we would be arriving late in the evening on the 8th (and leaving by 5am on the 9th of July). I definitely took my time taking pictures of and with my host family, as well as the people I met on the trip! The night ended with a roaring rendition of the American National Anthem, due to today being the 4th of July – aka the American Independence Day!

Pilar (my host mom) and I

Pilar (my host mom) and I

Pamela and I

Pamela and I

Bizzarro sandwich! (Kathy, me, and Sal)

Bizzarro sandwich! (Kathy, me, and Sal)

Rafa (internet cafe owner) and I

Rafa (internet cafe owner) and I

UPDATE 08/09/2013: When I went to get my passport renewed, I was told that I had to remove my piercings because they were unwilling to photoshop a ‘clean’ picture. My ear was still healing and when I removed the piercing (on the recommendation of my doctor), I woke up the next day with an ear that was almost entirely healed! I was extremely upset – I paid money and went through pain for nothing, and I had forgotten to take a picture of it!

Leave a Reply

