Colorado College / sophomore year / Spain / Summer / Travel

Day 21 in España – free weekend!

So…

Today was the last day for Spanish 305 – we did our class presentations today before celebrating and thanking Clara for being a great professor. My group was in charge of Spanish architecture so we divided the presentation up by time period – I chose the Gothic style, and it definitely was not easy finding the Spanish words for “flying buttress”!

After class ended I immediately went to withdraw money from the ATM for my trip to Santiago de Compostela. I had McDonalds for lunch because I wasn´t sure if I had enough bocadillos to tide me over till dinner – it turns out that I shouldn´t have worried, because my host mom misunderstood me and made 9 bocadillos (one per meal for the next 3 days). Apparently when I said “please make me bocadillos for the trip” she thought I meant the entire trip, not the 8-hour bus ride to Galicia.

While waiting for the girls, I went back to the internet cafe to ask Rafa about my laptop. Yesterday night I arrived at the cafe to work on my Powerpoint slides for the presentation. When I turned my laptop on I immediately knew something was wrong – the screen was white, with a grey folder in the middle and a blinking question mark inside the folder. When I asked Rafa for help he said it was a problem with the hard drive, so I regretfully decided to leave my laptop with him for the weekend. Today he told me that my hard drive definitely crashed, but that he´d try to fix it.

blinking question mark folder © apple.com

blinking question mark folder © apple.com

When the clock hit 2:30pm and Hanna hadn´t arrived, I left my cellphone with Amairani while Gianina and I speed-walked ahead to determine how far of a walk the bus station was from the Plaza. Amairani left a bit after us, because we told her that the walk was a bit long. Gianina and I had a bit of a hold up because she didn´t print out her ticket, but the guy finally told us where to go and we arrived at the bus point to see other CC students waiting. When everyone had boarded the bus, the driver came up to us and asked if we knew where Hanna was. Cecilia tried to get him to wait 10 minutes, but unfortunately we had to leave Hanna behind.

bus ticket to Santiago de Compostela!

bus ticket to Santiago de Compostela!

Amairani & I on the bus! © Amairani Alamillo

Amairani & I on the bus! © Amairani Alamillo

Through a series of phone calls to Kathy, Hanna´s host mom, and other CC students (along with several Facebook messages) we managed to get in touch with her. She said she was going to take the midnight bus to get to Santiago de Compostela in the morning, so we checked in without her – which had its own set of difficulties. When we arrived in Santiago de Compostela, we spent probably 20 minutes trying to figure out where our hotel was. We ended up having to take another bus that would drop us off at a bus stop near the hotel – it took around 30 minutes, so we definitely weren’t “within the city”.

Amairani & I on public transportation © Amairani Alamillo

Amairani & I on public transportation © Amairani Alamillo

Amairani was checked in under Hanna´s name and had to pay 3 days of her AND Hanna´s bill upfront, while Gianina apparently ordered a single bed for us both at another hostel. In the end we got it all ironed out and collapsed in our rooms – the beds were pretty big so sharing wasn’t a problem, and we even got our own bathrooms! I shared my bocadillos with the girls, and we ended up falling asleep pretty early (before 12 midnight, definitely).

hotel room booking!

hotel room booking!

Leave a Reply

