Salamanca / sophomore year / Spain / Travel

Week 3, Day 18 in España – the final debate & tours

So…

Today was a presentation-filled day in class. Jill decided to visit our class sometime during the early morning so Clara decided to have us start the class with the last group debate. Amairani and Agustin were pro-immigration, white Hanna and Josie were against it. Jill later on said that she enjoyed the debate, even if some parts were a bit difficult to understand, and left with Kathy after taking pictures with the class.

After the debate, we took a short snack break before heading out to view the Archivo de la Guerra Civil, or the General Archive of the Spanish Civil War. Because it was an exhibit, we were prohibited from taking photos. Many of the paintings and other artworks were done by children during the Civil War period, and the descriptions of the paintings exposed how horrific it was back then. We also watched short films being shown in the dark room.

Archivo de la Guerra Civil

Archivo de la Guerra Civil

Class ended after the tour, so I immediately headed back home for lunch. Our last Monday class tour was scheduled for this afternoon so I wanted to be able to sneak in a bit of a nap before 4pm. For today’s tour we visited Salamanca Plateresca and I was able to take a lot of pictures. Unfortunately my camera died in the middle of the tour, so the rest of my pictures were taken using my smartphone.

the beautiful altar

the beautiful altar

"La Iglesia"

“La Iglesia”

another mini-altar

another mini-altar

We had entered several different rooms and sections of the area, and although many of the structures seem similar, they are all still beautifully made in their own right.

the ceiling of the church

the ceiling of the church

the church (altar point of view)

the church (altar point of view)

The church ceiling below reminded me of Las Catedrales – the pointed structure symbolizes the gothic period, but the round top of the altar itself suggests Romanesque influence.

the full altar

the full altar

zoom-in on the altar

zoom-in on the altar

After the part one of the tour was finished, Teresa surprised us with some yummy baked goodies as a treat. The goodies had nuts in them and I didn’t want to risk it so I just (jealously) watched the rest of my classmates munch away on a surprising treat before continuing our tour. 

Teresa's surprise after our tours!

Teresa’s surprise after our tours!

However, I DID find a gorgeous little hideaway on our way to the monastery – it reminded me of the story “The Secret Garden”!

"The Secret Garden"

“The Secret Garden”

After part 1 of the tour, Teresa (our tour guide) brought us to El Convento de San Esteban.  The monastery was beautiful because it exuded peace and tranquility – it was really quiet, and we even saw an actual monk walk through holding a small bell!

El Convento de San Esteban

El Convento de San Esteban

the courtyard

the courtyard

another way in

another way in

entrance to the tombs

entrance to the tombs

a crypt

a crypt

After the tour I decided to go to Rafa’s to continue my homework – we had grammar to do for the next day, and grammar has never been my favorite, especially for a foreign language class. However I was able to push through and finish most of it before I left to go home for dinner. After dinner I finished my homework and did my diary entry for the day (it’s always interesting writing a diary entry in Spanish). At 10:45pm in the Plaza Mayor, there was a concert we could attend – thank god it was optional, because I was just way too tired to walk for 30 minutes just to listen to music.

Leave a Reply

