Colorado College / Salamanca / sophomore year / Spain / Summer / Travel

Day 15 in España – “¡Vamos Rafa!” and meeting Jill Tiefenthaler

So…

Today was pretty interesting. Definitely a bit nerve-racking, but also pretty interesting. It was my turn to present a titular in front of class today, so I chose to talk about an article from the newspaper El País regarding whether or not parents should be fined because their children have repeatedly landed in the emergency room due to alcohol poisoning. The debate was definitely a bit heated, and I’m not even sure myself if fining the parents will have an affect on the child.In class we also discussed the reading “La Lengua de las Mariposas”, before moving to Rafa’s cafe to watch the movie Regreso a Hansala, a story about a funeral parlor owner, a Moroccan woman and their quest to return her brother’s body back home. When the movie ended I decided to call my host mom and tell her that I wouldn’t be eating lunch at home for today. I had an order of cured meat sushi at Rafa’s, with 9 pieces per order. I had completely forgotten about the cream cheese filling inside each sushi, but at least my sushi didn’t fall on top of the wasabi this time!

While waiting for President Tiefenthaler to arrive, I watched the tennis match between Djokovic and Nadal on the projector. It was a very intense final, because they had both won 2 games, but in the end Nadal left with his 8th Grand Slam title after a 6-4, 3-6, 6-1, 6-7, 9-7 victory at the 2013 Roland Garros semi-finals. I was also able to Skype with my parents for a bit and tell them about what I’ve been doing so far in Salamanca.

Later on in the afternoon, Jill Tiefenthaler (president of CC) arrived at Rafa’s internet cafe with her 12 year-old son Owen. For the rest of the afternoon the students at the cafe spoke to Jill about the progress of the program so far, and our experiences at Colorado College. We decided to go to a tapa place before dinner, so a group of us went to Taberna de Dionísos for some wine and tapas.

Taberna de Dionísos

Taberna de Dionísos

the entrance

the entrance

the menu!

the menu!

Azpilicueta Rioja Crianza 2009

Azpilicueta Rioja Crianza 2009

El Plato Normal

El Plato Normal

Spanish Omelet!

Spanish Omelet!

After braving the pouring rain, some of us went back to Bambu to have dinner with Jill, Kathy and Sal.

Fries and Yogurt

Fries and Yogurt

riiiibs

riiiibs

fries and a different kind of ribs

fries and a different kind of ribs

grilled vegetables

grilled vegetables

some kind of cake...

some kind of cake…

banana in syrup

banana in syrup

chocolate cake!

chocolate cake!

After getting home early and having dinner with my host family, I quickly packed my purse and made sure that my rain jacket was ready – I wasn’t really sure how cold or rainy Segovia would be, so I wanted to be prepared for anything. And since I was getting up early, I decided to leave my homework for Sunday – I’m pretty sure I’d be too tired to try and start writing my composition 5 after our trip to Segovia!

Leave a Reply

