Colorado College / Salamanca / sophomore year / Spain / Summer / Travel

Day 13 in España – shopping at El Corte Ingles!

So…

Today was amazingly fun, because it was a shopping day! For class today we talked a bit about Miguel de Unamuno, the former president of the Universidad de Salamanca. We had read one of his short works as homework, El amor que asalta, and during class we discussed different characters and what their importance was to the story. Peter had a very interesting “titular presentación” because he talked about Penelope Cruz being the next Bond girl – something I didn’t even know until he summarized the article!

After class I immediately went to check out the small stand by the McDonald’s entrance of the Plaza Mayor. For the past few days I’ve been seeing a really cute dark brown (nearly black) leather bag, and eventually I went up to ask the lady how much the bag cost. I definitely think that the bag was worth it being my first “big spend” of the trip – though I don’t consider 20 euros a big spend for such a gorgeous (real) leather bag that perfectly fits my camera, iPhone, tissue, medicine pouch, wallet, lip balm and eye drops (aka all the necessities)!

my gorgeous new leather bag!

my gorgeous new leather bag!

After my mini shopping spree I went home for an early 2pm lunch. For lunch Pilar prepared a huge salad bowl full of paella, which meant that I would be having some yummy leftovers until at least the next day. I finished my meal and my bowl was spotless. I had to tell Pilar I was full because I usually can’t finish her portions – I just make an exception for paella. 

I can never say no to paella!

I can never say no to paella!

After lunch I took a short 30-minute siesta before heading out to the Plaza Mayor to meet Hanna and Amairani. The girls didn’t know how to get to El Corte Ingles, which meant that I had to pick them up and basically walk the route back home (minus 10 or so minutes). When we entered the shopping center the first thing we saw were leggings and jeans, so of course we went over to that section. I never new that push-up JEANS existed!

push-up JEANS?

push-up JEANS?

After looking at the clothing corner, we circled around to the stationary corner, then the accessories corner (the bags were gorgeous) and finally found the beauty corner. Actually, our noses found the beauty corner – the perfume was really strong! Hanna and I bought the same model of dual hair straightener/curler for pretty cheap, and because we brought our student IDs (aka passport photo copy) we even got a discount! We decided to check out the other floors to see if there was anything else worth buying, but aside from a black faux leather jacket (in probably 2 sizes too large), there was nothing of interest. Amairani and I went to the bottom floor to see if the grocery are had a food court, but no luck – I did see that the supermarket was Master Chef approved though!

but where's Gordon Ramsey?

but where’s Gordon Ramsey?

After shopping I went straight home (my feet were killing me). I immediately took a shower and (impatiently) waited for my hair to dry before opening and testing out my hair straightener. Because I had cut my hair short several months ago, it is currently at that awkward not-bob but yet not-shoulder-length either sort of style, which means that when my hair air-dries it tends to flip out (it is quite irritating actually). Not even 30 seconds later, my hair was pin-straight and stayed that way all night!

first time to use a straightening iron!

first time to use a straightening iron!

well at least it's only the box that's pink...

well at least it’s only the box that’s pink…

For dinner Pilar prepared rice and tomato sauce with grilled chicken. For dessert I had a choice between cherries (with the pits still inside them, which I found out the hard way) or one big slice of watermelon. After trying a cherry, I chose the watermelon – it was definitely the better choice!

rice and tomato sauce with grilled chicken

rice and tomato sauce with grilled chicken

un-pitted cherries

un-pitted cherries

a huge slice of watermelon

a huge slice of watermelon

Leave a Reply

