Colorado College / Salamanca / sophomore year / Spain / Summer / Travel

Days 9 and 10 in España – free weekend!

So…

Yesterday and today were amazing in terms of the free time I had. The entire of Saturday I spent at home, chilling in my room and catching up with my Criminal Minds episodes (half done – at Season 4 now!). I woke up past my normal time for breakfast (aka around 11am) so Pilar made an early lunch of the remaining Cocido Madrileño.

Cocido Madrileño - soup and meat

Cocido Madrileño – soup and meat

Cocido Madrileño - beans and vegetables

Cocido Madrileño – beans and vegetables

After lunch I went back to my room and continued to catch up on my television episodes for the shows Grimm and Unforgettable. I managed to update my blog post and upload some pictures onto Facebook, and spent a couple of hours taking a siesta. For Saturday dinner Pilar prepared her special paella. She tried to get me to try some of the shrimp (I guess she forgot that I’m allergic to seafood) but I was able to refuse her – in Spanish! – and instead I was offered more bread. I had a yellow apple for dessert – first time to have a non-red apple whole actually!

yummy chicken paella!

yummy chicken paella!

no shrimp, thanks Pilar!

no shrimp, thanks Pilar!

more bread?

more bread?

a yellow apple!

a yellow apple!

On Sunday, I woke up late and had more paella for lunch. I spent the rest of the afternoon at the internet cafe working on my homework with the rest of the 300s (not a Sparta reference) before heading to the Plaza Mayor to meet Kathy at 7pm. We ended up having a short tour for FACYL – the festival of arts from June 6-13. We first went to the Colegio Arzobispo Fonseca, and had a great time looking around and taking pictures.

Colegio Arzobispo Fonseca entrance

Colegio Arzobispo Fonseca entrance

the sign

the sign

the well in the garden

the well in the garden

stairs, anyone?

stairs, anyone?

make a wish if you have a coin!

make a wish if you have a coin!

Our next (and final) stop on the tour was the statue of Miguel de Unamuno, former president of the University of Salamanca. Kathy was explaining the importance of his influence on the intellectual life of Salamanca, but I was too focused on the adorable kids playing nearby with their dogs.

Miguel de Unamuno

Miguel de Unamuno

the plaque

the plaque

After the tour ended, I went to the Plaza Mayor with some of the others to grab some ice cream at Novelty, and this time I got two flavors – Oreo and Fresa (aka strawberry). At this point in time I’m slightly ashamed to say that I have memorized the prices of each ice cream size – someone’s been having too much ice cream!

Oreo y Fresa!

Oreo y Fresa!

Novelty Ice Cream prices

Novelty Ice Cream prices

After ice cream I headed back home for dinner. I guess that ice cream spoiled my appetite because I wasn’t able to finish my beef, chicken, ham, potato and pea stew. I did try and make room for (another) dessert though – a delicious flan topped with strawberries!

beef, chicken, ham, potato and pea stew for dinner!

beef, chicken, ham, potato and pea stew for dinner!

a delicious flan topped with strawberries for dessert!

a delicious flan topped with strawberries for dessert!

Leave a Reply

