Colorado College / Salamanca / sophomore year / Spain / Summer / Travel

Day 8 in España – Hanna’s 19th birthday!

So…

Today was incredibly fun. We had class as usual, from 10:15am to 1:15pm. Kathy came to visit our class, and joined us in signing “cumpleaños feliz” to Hanna. Lily and I went to the Fruteria again to buy more Fuji apples, and this time Nico and Mike joined us. I think the guy at the counter was happy to see us again, and he’s always pleased whenever we refuse a plastic bag.

For lunch today I had chicken with the tomato sauce and rice, with freshly sliced strawberries sprinkled with sugar for dessert. After lunch I headed back to the cafe to finish my homework. I was able to finish it in time to bring my bag back home , have a short snack, and head back to the Plaza Mayor (a 30-minute walk home, and a 30-minute walk back…yay).

chicken in tomato sauce + strawberries for dessert!

chicken in tomato sauce for lunch + strawberries for dessert!

croissant con chocolate + fresh strawberries for merienda!

croissant con chocolate + fresh strawberries for merienda!

The class met under the clock at the Plaza Mayor at 7:45pm. On the way to the Plaza I saw a man playing a concordion – he was pretty good! I guess I’ve never been to the Plaza at this time, because there were a lot of people by the entrance.

the concordion player!

the concordion player!

what a crowd!

what a crowd!

Kathy took us to a bar/restaurante where one of the best guitar players would be performing, and while waiting we enjoyed some tapas with our beverage of choice – red wine (what I ordered), white wine, beer, or non-alcoholics (lemonade or coca-cola).

La Cervecería La Antigua!

La Cervecería La Antigua!

1 free drink!

1 free drink!

one glass of red wine...

one glass of red wine…

a few slices of cheese...

a few slices of cheese…

barbecue...

barbecue…

and some spanish tortilla!

and some pieces of a spanish tortilla!

The guitarist performed hispanic music for about an hour, and took a 10-minute break in between. After his performance we were able to talk to him about his work and his music style – some of my classmates even took pictures with him!

the famous guitarist!

the famous guitarist!

playing hispanic music!

playing hispanic music!

After the guitar performance, I had dinner at a yummy italian place with Haley, Hannah and Lily. Hannah and I split a prosciutto pizza, while Lily and Haley split three different tapas between them. The rest of the girls shared a red wine, while I had iced water.

Rua Mayor!

Rua Mayor!

check out that menu...

check out that menu…

tapas L-R: potato filled with meat, bread topped with veggies and ham, tuna & mayo sandwich

tapas L-R: potato filled with meat, bread topped with veggies and ham, tuna & mayo sandwich

prosciutto & mozzarella pizza!

prosciutto & mozzarella pizza!

We ended up seeing Michael and Jenna on the table beside us – they had ravioli for starters, and suckling pig and potatoes for the main course. It was funny because they ended up getting what looked like pig butt.

suckling pig, anyone?

suckling pig, anyone?

After dinner we headed back towards the Plaza for some ice cream at Novelty, apparently one of the best ice cream places in the world. You can have 2 flavors on an ice cream cone, but they scoop half-n-half instead of one scoop per flavor. Also, you can only share flavors from the same side – it’s divided between ice cream and yogurt. I got a mediano (size of the ice cream cone) of Oreo, which was AMAZING. I am definitely coming back to try the other flavors – apparently Chocolate tastes like Nutella!

The Plaza Mayor at night!

The Plaza Mayor at night!

Left side of Novelty: yogurt flavors

Left side of Novelty: yogurt flavors

Right side of Novelty: ice cream flavors part 1...

Right side of Novelty: ice cream flavors part 1…

...and part 2

…and part 2

un mediano de Oreo!

un mediano de Oreo!

After some scrumptious ice cream, we went to check out El Submarino for some cheap alcohol – I got a Malibu with coke, and it was pretty good! Thanks to my girls Hannah and Haley for introducing it to me!

El Submarino!

El Submarino!

Malibu with coke!

Malibu with coke!

L-R: Hannah and Haley!

L-R: Hannah and Haley!

The scene at El Submarino was pretty dead so we left to find the others. We ended up spotting them at Pan y Agua, apparently another cheap hangout. Mike introduced us to a new drink called El Agua de Valencia, which was apaprently vodka, Fanta and wine or champagne. It was pretty good, but I could definitely taste the vodka – not to mention, the size of the cup! I’d probably drink it if I could share with someone (maybe even two people actually).

El Agua de Valencia!

El Agua de Valencia!

girls vs. boys: Lily & Lucy vs. Zack and Tucker

girls vs. boys: Lily & Lucy vs. Zack and Tucker

Benito y Alejandro contra Zack y Tucker!

Benito y Alejandro contra Zack y Tucker!

After 1am us girls wanted to dance so we headed towards El Savor for some salsa dancing. According to Priscilla, a professor/grammar editor for our class, the best time to go is 4am – but I don’t think any of us plan on being awake at that time! We saw Annie dancing with a really cute guy, but unfortunately I think he was one of the youngest. We did get asked to dance a couple of times, so I do have to thank my new friend Anton for teaching me (the girls thought he was in his late 20s, so not too old).

El Savor!

El Savor!

I ended up getting home at around 3:30ish (though my walk is 30 minutes long, so I didn’t get home TOO late), but I was glad I drank very little – I definitely was more awake for class the next day (and had no headache to speak of)!

Leave a Reply

