Colorado College / Salamanca / sophomore year / Spain / Summer / Travel

Days 6 and 7 in España – homework hell

So…

Yesterday and today were really hell on my social life – and I’m (guiltily) glad to say that it wasn’t just affecting my social life, but my fellow suffering 300-level students. On the other hand, we were able to speak to Clara (our professor) about the homework overload and she decided to give us “alternate-day” homeworks. Meaning, instead of doing a chapter of grammar exercises + reading an article + writing a composition, we would do compositions on set days, and the grammar exercises on the other days. We would still have to read an article everyday, but it really did help lighten our workload. 

For lunch on Wednesday, Pilar (mi madre española) made a broth of potatoes, carrots, beans and other vegetables. She mixed chicken with my stew and shellfish with the rest of the dish because of my allergies. It was really tasty and filling but I arrived home pretty early (class ends at 1:15ish usually, but we got out at 1 o’clock exactly) so the stew was really hot. For dessert we had sliced strawberries and bananas sprinkled with sugar again, yummy!

chicken, potato, carrot and bean stew!

chicken, potato, carrot and bean stew!

I returned to the internet cafe after lunch to work on my composition (unfortunately, composition 2 was still to be submitted on Thursday), but enjoyed a free sample of the cafe’s sushi. They serve 2 types – “phila” sushi (instead of seaweed the sushi is rolled in a thin layer of cream cheese) and “nori” sushi (aka the regular wrapped-in-seaweed kind). I immediately took some medicine and waited 15 minutes before trying the  crab-filled nori sushi. It was really delicious, and the soy sauce was great too! It was a bit of a surprise when I bit into the nori sushi, because the center had a small ring of cream cheese surrounding the crab and veggies…not bad, just surprising.

"phila" sushi vs. "nori" sushi

“phila” sushi vs. “nori” sushi

For dinner on Wednesday I had pasta with red sauce. At first, talking to some of my classmates we thought it was ketchup, but eventually we figured out that it was just a sweet, canned tomato sauce that happens to taste a lot like ketchup. I didn’t really like the mini-sausage pieces in my pasta though, they were a bit too bland for my taste.

not ketchup pasta after all!

not ketchup pasta after all!

On Thursday I ran into Kathy on the way to class. She pointed out to me the Teatro Liceo, a place where we could watch movies for a euro or two. Apparently the movie Matador will be showing soon, so I might watch it with the others.

El Teatro Liceo

El Teatro Liceo

pretty entrance!

pretty entrance!

For Thursday lunch I had a really yummy dish modeled after the Cocido Madrileño, a three-course dish in this order: a broth-based soup, followed by chickpeas, beans and vegetables, and the final course contains the meat and sausage. Pilar changed it up a bit by adding chickpeas and vegetables to the final course “to make it healthier” apparently.

starter course: a broth-based soup!

starter course: a broth-based soup!

part 2: chickpeas, beans and veggies!

part 2: chickpeas, beans and veggies!

final course: more chickpeas, meat, and sausage (topped with veggies)

final course: more chickpeas, meat, and sausage (topped with veggies)

Thursday was a good day because we had a 15-minute break during class. Lily and I decided to check out the “Fruteria” a minute away from the Colegio de España. The man sold delicious Fuji apples by weight, so my apple cost 0.76 euros while Lily’s cost 0.68 euros. They were nice and cold, and really juicy – hopefully the passerby didn’t see the juice running down our chins, because that would have been a bit embarrassing!

La Fruteria!

La Fruteria Mari Pili!

For dinner on Thursday, Pilar prepared an old american classic – grilled ham and cheese. But I believe the main prize was the dessert: homemade flan with sweet pineapple slices on the side, a warm churro with sugar sprinkled on top, and store-bought pastries! After dinner I was so stuffed I ended up falling asleep pretty quickly – although dinner WAS pretty late tonight, starting at 10:30pm. Luckily, Pilar had lightened our workload  so I managed to finish my homework before coming home.

grilled ham & cheese sandwiches!

grilled ham & cheese sandwiches!

homemade flan & sweet pineapple slices, churro sprinkled with sugar, and pastries!

homemade flan & sweet pineapple slices, churro sprinkled with sugar, and pastries!

Leave a Reply

