Colorado College / Salamanca / sophomore year / Spain / Summer / Travel

Day 3 in España: ¡Adiós Fundación, hola Pilar!

So…

Today was our last day at the Fundación, and it was both a happy and sad day. I really enjoyed spending my time here, but I was also really excited (and nervous) to meet my host family. After our usual breakfast of bread and jam or butter at 9am, we packed our bags and cleaned our beds. We left the Fundación at 11:30am, and took our approximately 40-minute bus ride to meet up with our host family. It was a little bit daunting when we arrived at the meeting place, especially because we could see all of the host parents gathered together. I think the thought going around most of our minds at that point was either 1) how to greet and address our host parents, or 2) “where did my Spanish go?”

Salamanca Group 2013!

Salamanca Group 2013! © Kathy Bizzarro

I met Pilar, my host mom, and two CC incoming seniors doing a venture grant in Spain – Tiffany and Claire. The girls told me that Pilar was the best cook of the host moms, and I have to agree because her paella was delicious! I’m glad that my host mom is a wonderful cook, and her husband Miguel is really nice too. They’re grandson Miguelito is an adorable 13 year-old, and I guess I should have expected it when he kissed me on both cheeks as a greeting!

¡hola Pilar!

¡hola Pilar!

paella con pollo!

paella con pollo!

ensalada

ensalada

sugar-topped strawberries and apple slices

sugar-topped strawberries and apple slices

I spent the rest of the afternoon relaxing and taking a small siesta before heading out with the girls to explore the Plaza Mayor de Salamanca.

my room!

my room!

yay for closet space!

yay for closet space!

apparently sells some of the best ice cream in the world!

apparently sells some of the best ice cream in the world!

oops, where'd the churros con chocolate go?

oops, where’d the churros con chocolate go?

background: New Cathedral de Salamanca

background: New Cathedral de Salamanca

ducks by the park!

ducks by the park!

DSC00268

carnival ride at the park anyone?

carnival ride at the park anyone?

They took me around the Plaza Mayor and towards the bridge by the river Tormes, and afterwards brought me back to the Plaza for my meet up with the class at 7:30pm. We took a tour of the major tourist points as a class – which was really tiring because apparently I had been to most of the places with Tiffany and Claire – and after the tour we all headed back home for dinner.

beautiful wall art - hope to see the painter in action!

beautiful wall art – hope to see the painter in action!

apparently one of the best Chinese restaurants in Salamanca!

apparently one of the best Chinese restaurants in Salamanca!

our new "Worner" aka internet cafe!

our new “Worner” aka internet cafe!

staying classy inside - they even serve sushi!

staying classy inside – they even serve sushi!

During the tour we saw the outside walls of the Universidad de Salamanca. According to our guide, back in the day the university had only male students. One of the skulls near the entrance had a frog on top of it, to symbolize women and how they spread poisonous diseases, causing men to fail their education (and at times, even die). The legend told to tourists is that whoever finds the skull first will be lucky for the rest of their trip, and if said person is a student, he/she will pass their exams. Amairani was the first person to find the frog, and our guide told her that she will also find a boyfriend!

DSC00298

can you spot the frog?

that's one tiny frog!

that’s one tiny frog!

For dinner Pilar prepared grilled ham and cheese sandwiches, open nutella sandwiches and pastries for dessert. I was still really tired from all the traveling we were doing, so I simply showered and went to bed. I’m pretty sure the start of next week will have more adventures anyways, and we have to meet under the clock at 9:30am tomorrow (Monday, the 27th) – it takes 20 minutes to walk from my house to the Plaza, so sleep sounds amazing!

DSC00306

grilled ham & cheese sandwiches for dinner!

open nutella sandwiches & pastries!

open nutella sandwiches & pastries!

Leave a Reply

