Colorado College / sophomore year / Spain / Summer / Travel

On the go to Spain!

So…

As you can see from the title of this blog post, I’M GOING TO SPAIN! My day started with several alarms for a 5:30 wakeup call. Flora set several alarms by the minute as well, so eventually we got out of bed and managed to get to the Colorado Springs Airport at 6:20am. For breakfast on the go we managed to grab an apple and make a sandwich (I made a nutella sandwich using wheat bread, for once!).

not enough alarms?

not enough alarms?

After arriving at the airport I bumped into Kiko Sweeney, one of my friends and a fellow Classics major (who is sadly graduating while I’ll be abroad next Spring). I also met up with a couple of Salamanca classmates, and when we arrived at Chicago (after being delayed for 30 minutes in the Springs) we immediately followed Cecilia to the Iberian terminal. We originally planned to get off the train at Terminal 5 because it is the International terminal, but luckily I saw that Iberia was listed under Terminal 3. We met up with most of my other Salamanca classmates at the corner of the Iberian counters. Funny moment – we were about to land in Chicago when the pilot said “apologies for the delay, but we had to circle around because the plane that landed before us ran over an animal, so they have to clear the runway before we land”.

We finally got through security and while the rest of my classmates went straight to gate 19, Michael, Hannah, Lucy and I decided to go to Chili’s because we were starving. I ordered the Smoked Southern burger, which came with smoked bacon, melted cheddar, and onion rings. The fries were delicious, and next time I will definitely order the burger without mayo and veggies.

Smoked Southern Burger!

Smoked Southern Burger!

We’re all currently waiting at gate 19, hopefully about to board any minute now. The next post will definitely be when I’m at Spain, so I can’t wait to take pictures!

UPDATE 05/26/2013: I took a few pictures of our meals on the plane…I find the mini-coke adorable!

dinner: beef and rice!

dinner: beef and rice!

fun-sized mini-coke!

fun-sized mini-coke!

breakfast bun with ham and cheese inside!

breakfast bun with ham and cheese inside!

Leave a Reply

