Colorado College / Music / sophomore year

Blues and Shoes 2013 & The Back Row Spring Concert 2013

So…
Today was the day of Colorado College’s annual Blues and Shoes event. It is basically a country and folk dance event with live bands, a bucking bronco, and alcohol for anyone over 21. I was very excited to go to Blues and Shoes this year as I didn’t get to go last year. At Blues and Shoes people wear whatever they want, but the trend seemed to be towards cowboy boots (or barefoot-ness), skirts or dresses + crop tops, or bralet tops paired with overalls (at around 4-ish girls basically unfastened theirs and left them hanging by their waists). Guys generally went in bro tanks (or even shirtless), but the general atmosphere was just 100% chill.
yay for gorgeous, sunny weather!

yay for gorgeous, sunny weather!

the 5 o'clock band getting ready

the 5 o’clock band getting ready

just like Coachella

just like Coachella

The food was great this year – macaroni and cheese, bread rolls, pulled pork and more! The only downside were the lines. Mel (my roommate) and I lined up at around 4:30ish and we got our food past 5pm!
nearly there!

nearly at the Food Tent!

can I get another serving?

can I get another serving?

I left at around 5:30 to get ready to head to Relations, which according to the CC website is “a student-written, student-produced play inspired by Eve Ensler’s Vagina Monologues, and a venue to discuss honestly and openly about our emotional and sexual experiences as CC students. RELATIONS are our love poems, awkward ex-lover encounters, exciting new-lover encounters, thoughts on the hook-up culture, fantasies, criticisms, hopes, desires, fears and violations. This play is a dialogue, one which relies on your willingness to share”.
Back Row Spring Concert 2013

Back Row Spring Concert 2013

I am definitely looking forward to The Back Row concert later tonight at Armstrong – CC’s all-male acapella group is always a hit. And I can’t wait for next weekend, Llamapalooza, a Coachella mimic that functions as CC’s annual music festival on the Worner Quad, is actually bringing MAC MILLER! 
Mac Miller at Llama 2013!

Mac Miller at Llama 2013!

SO excited for this shirt!

SO excited for this shirt!

UPDATED 5/11/13: I finally uploaded the videos I took during The Back Row Spring 2013 concert on my YouTube account! check them out in HD video! If you want to watch the full concert, check it out on CC’s YouTube page. I personally recommend skipping to around 22:50 for their cover of “Cecilia” by Simon and Garfunkel!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4ZHBfqIfR2M

…again, please WATCH IN 720HD Quality! For those who don’t know how, just click the gear icon on the bottom right corner.The Back Row Spring 2013 – intro video

Hey Soul Sister by Train
Covered by Zach Anderson

Carolina in My Mind by James Taylor
Covered by Nick Geyer

the usual finale with the alumni, Africa by Toto
Lead vocals: Jack Ahern
Harmonies: Evan Sauvage (left) and Zach Anderson (right)

the encore, Down on the Corner by Creedence Clearwater Revival
Lead vocals: Jack Ahern

3 thoughts on “Blues and Shoes 2013 & The Back Row Spring Concert 2013

  1. I drop a comment each time I like a article on a website or
    I have something to contribute to the discussion.
    Usually it’s caused by the passion displayed in the
    article I looked at. And on this post Blues and Shoes
    2013 & The Back Row Spring Concert 2013 | travelin’ 20somethin’.
    I was actually moved enough to post a comment 😛 I do have a few questions for you
    if it’s okay. Is it just me or does it seem like some of these comments appear as if they are written by brain dead individuals?
    😛 And, if you are posting on other online social
    sites, I would like to keep up with everything fresh you
    have to post. Could you list every one of all your public pages
    like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

  2. Spot on with this write-up, I really feel this website needs a
    great deal more attention. I’ll probably be returning to
    read through more, thanks for the info!

Leave a Reply

